RSS Feed

One Word

Last year I posted “Resolutions (or something like it)” and the one that stuck for me was the one word to guide your year.  Last year my word was

And share I did.  I travelled, tweeted, blogged, networked and had a great year.  But I was missing something, my word for this year,

 Nest B Christmas Sparkle letter A letter L letter A letter N c letter E

I will endeavour to find a balance between work and family, between doing things for me and for others, between office and classroom.  I will do this to strengthen relationships, for my physical and mental health and to become the professional leader I am aspiring to be. 

The plan is pretty straight forward.  I need to be really present at work and at home.  I need to unplug and play with my kids, take personal days and get done what needs to be done.  As a family we have bought a membership to the new Multiplex, I am going to schedule in time for a massage and make plans with friends and family that have been neglected.  I will reflect and blog (more often) on my teaching and schedule No Office Days to ensure I get into more classrooms!

The last time that I tried to build a habit was when I was starting my 365 blogging project and I had good sucess using HabitForge.  The website sends you a daily reminder of the habit you are trying to build.  A little accountability to start the year off on the right track.

4 responses »

  1. Glad I found your site! I have a similar practice in my transition between years! Here’s my word: http://wp.me/p1853r-jy

    Reply
  2. Glad I found your site! I have a similar practice in my transition between years! Here’s my word: http://wp.me/p1853r-jy

    Reply
  3. Pingback: You Should Read…(January 15, 2012)

  4. Pingback: 2012 – Reflection on Balance « Jen Clevette

Leave a Reply

