Summer Reading

Summer reading, had me a blast!  Summer reading, happened so fast!  I read way more in the summer than I do during the school year and this summer was no exception.

Professional Reading

This was what was beside my bed for most of the summer.  The latest addition was Rethinking School Leadership, which I acquired at the Alberta Teacher’s Association Summer Conference.  I have also been  looking for a book to use for a leadership book study, hence Teaching the Digital Generation, Visible Learning for Teachers and Shifting the Monkey.  At the bottom is an assortment of school leadership books and ASCD books that I get with my membership.  Everything in my stack is worth reading.  Some are easier reads (Shift the Monkey) than others (Visible Learning) but I have taken a little something from each one and incorporated it into my teaching practice.

Personal Reading

All my personal reading is done on my kindle.  I honestly cannot remember the last time that I could not find a digital copy of a book that I wanted to read.  My best summer reads….

  • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, an excellent book with twists and turns.  Subsequently I read Sharp Objects and Dark Places is on my wish list.  I will see if I can get to it before Summer 2013.
  • World War Z – at my brother’s insistence and knowing that Brad Pitt was starring in the upcoming movie, I finally picked it up and couldn’t put it down.
  • What Alice Forgot a great read about how we end up where we end up and what would you do if you had the chance to do it all over again.
  • Just for fun reads: Guilty Wives, The Vow and Summer Island.

Young Adult Fiction

I like to say I read these to know what my students are reading, but to be honest, I really like juvenile fiction.  Since the Hunger Games I have been on the hunt for other dystopia’s and when I came across this, it made it super easy!

Source: mediabistro.com via Jennifer on Pinterest

So I ended up reading

 

 

Leave a comment